CATharsis

Danusia, my soulet, rescued our “kids” beginning with Coco in 2008. Her intent was to provide comfort, companionship, and just a little bit of joy during the very dark days of my illness. At first, I didn’t have any interest in having a pet. Getting well and out of pain was my only interest, my only focus–I had absolutely no energy for anything else. But when she came to my bedside and opened the box and I saw this tiny, sweet soul looking back at me, I gave in instantly. Coco was 8 weeks old, but underweight and ill, just like me. She had severe kennel cough, requiring subcutaneous antibiotics and fluids. During the first weeks of her arrival, she would sleep next to me at night and stay by my side as I rested in bed throughout the day. Time passed and she healed while still returning to my side and purring in my lap when I could sit up. She’s become even more affectionate as the years have passed, and of course, I love her more each day. What a gift Danusia gave me.

Coco

2009 arrived and I was no better, so Danusia rescued our second, presenting her as she did Coco. Milo was 12 weeks old and, unfortunately, had to be sequestered for a month due to an intestinal infection that could spread to Coco. Each morning I would make my way downstairs to Milo’s room and lie down for an hour, letting Milo tread all over my back, kneed my side, and push her head into my palm over and over, purring all the while. The time came to unite Coco and Milo, and after a few hisses and head pats, Coco took to Milo like a proud, caring mother. Danusia had given me another tremendous heartfelt gift, as I found some rare joy in observing our two “kids” form a playful, everlasting bond.

Milo

2010 came around and found me worse after more surgeries and hospitalizations, so Danusia made another rescue. This time it was a healthy, melt your heart 10 week old. Not only did Danusia and I fall fast and hard for Echo, Coco and Milo did as well. Echo was special, exhibiting behavior we had yet to witness from a kitten. She would kneed against Danusia’s side for 30 minutes, let herself be held for hours, then bound endlessly from wall to wall in rapid, thunderous flashes.

Echo

And that brings me to their names, which Danusia kindly left for me to change. Oreo became Coco, Wilbur, whom the animal shelter thought to be a boy, became our second girl Milo, and Daisy Mae became Echo, or rather, Echoplex Blaze to reflect her raucous, chaotic speed. 2012, our “kids” are all healthy, as is Danusia, and I’m feeling a bit better each day. Never could I have imagined the healing effect such gifts would bring. So I thank Danusia from my heart each time Coco, Milo, or Echo appears to comfort their “dad” . . .

 

© Cary Gossett and Rollin With Outta Colon, 2012. All Rights Reserved.

6 thoughts on “CATharsis

  1. Pingback: Cimzia! A Schweenie in a Silent Film Production « Bottled Time – Living, Loving, Laughing, Learning, and Growing through Chronic Illness and Pain

  2. I also have a beautiful cat. It’s because of her that I haven’t jumped out of the window so many times. I don’t know what I’d do without her. Will post something about her shortly :) She deservers a good tribute. All pets do, really :)

    • I would love to see a photo of her. What’s her name? Great pets do have that ‘grounding’ quality, don’t they? Always happy to see you, keep you warm, show how to truly relax … aah, the peaceful life of no responsibility!

      Plus, they are always around for photo and video ops!

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Stop by anytime.

      Best,
      ~Cary~

      • Her name is Misky. I will post picts of her. I do all the time in Twitter because at the moment I don’t feel brave enough to post picts of me, so I show my life through her (working to be able to show myself someday! ;) )
        Feel so related to you with the blogging! I also started writing when I saw so many people like me doing it. It’s helping me so much :) xoxoxo

    • It took me years to share my story and photo. I was so isolated that I stopped talking to family, friends, any living being that could pass judgment. That’s where my cats came in: I could be anyone around them, say anything to them without inhibition. But being human, I had to address my need for human contact, a profound need in all of us, one that forms a path to wellbeing, hope, and happiness. I finally shed my isolation and began reaching out to family and friends in December, 2011. Shortly after, I made several great friends on the web through their blogs. Like you, I began writing and blogging, finding these activities to provide essential and healthy spiritual fuel. I’m excited to visit your blog and I’d like to follow you on Twitter. I don’t know your Twitter username, but if you tweet me @CaryGossett, we’ll be set!

      Thanks again for writing. I anticipate I’ll see your pic soon . . .

      Stay Strong,

      Cary

      • Yes, I know loads about the “talking to cats” bit, hehehe. The thing is that they understand!! My cat is very “vocal” so when I say something to her she would meow back and that makes me smile :)
        But you are so right: we need human contact. And now I am talking everyday to my partner, I tell him how I feel, the progress I think I am making and what I have written about.
        He is subscribed to my blog too and is being so supportive! I would have got soooo mad at him if he had done what I am doing! He has been waiting for me to open up for so long and now I decide to share this way… But he is happy that I am doing this. I don’t deserve him, really :)

        It is nice to have you around, my Twitter friend! :)

        Xxx

Your Ideas Are Important, So Please Voice Your Reply